The Coalition

CPYD is a collaboration of community partners who share the common goal of positive youth development, including a lifestyle that is free of alcohol, drugs and other substances. The community coalition model is an evidence-based strategy to address public health issues through coordinated efforts. By using local data and a strategic planning process that is inclusive of our partners, including youth, the coalition will create a comprehensive strategic plan to address those issues that are most relevant to the community, and to foster positive youth development. The coalition’s goal is to reflect the diversity of our community and to have a strategy in place to ensure that all community voices are being engaged.

The coalition is made up of individuals and organizations who are key stakeholders in positive youth development: youth, parents, schools, police, fire and first responders, civic organizations, faith-based organizations, local government, media, local health and behavioral professionals, youth-serving organizations, businesses, and other organizations in Schaumburg, Hoffman Estates, Elk Grove Village, Hanover Park, and Palatine.

Executive Committee

Co-ChairsYassi Delgado, High School District 211
Joe Podlasek (LCO-Ojibwe), Trickster Native American Art Gallery
Vice ChairRick Bauer, Conant High School
Sergeant-At-ArmsJeanie Michalec, Countryside Church Unitarian Universalist
RecorderNancy Kukankos, The Bridge Youth and Family Services
Strategic Planning Subcommittee Chair (Data & Membership)Eric O'Brien, Streamwood Behavioral Health
Elk Grove Village Subcommittee Co-ChairsVal Norris, Elk Grove High School
Katie Ahsell, School District 59
Youth Advisory Council (YAC) LeadersJessie G. (Senior)
Emily L. (Senior)